'All Thing Work Together for the Good of Those Who Love God and are Called According to His Purpose'   Rom 8:28
 
I found this article to be very interesting as I related to many of the students who like me, began the class with no prior experience with ipods and other technology gadgets. I have been out of the classroom for a long time and I certainly dont feel I have the exposure or experience my fellow classmates have when it comes to using technology through social media, classroom instruction or personal gadgets. I am beginning to gain better insight through these types of readings as well as the assignmnets given by Dr.Sailor introuducing me to a new and innovative ways of learning. I certainly come from a time of traditional learning so I am excited about the new technological advances being taught in the classroom.
The article covered many important factors regarding why Professor Deborah Vess used ipods in her curriculum. She states in her opening address, "When applications are based on solid learning theory and designs with appropriate outcomes in mind, they can transform the educational experience for students, build communities of learners, promote more active engagement of materials, and achieve the learning outcomes essential for the study of history." Her use of ipods enhanced her students abilities to give better oral presentations, being engaging rather than passive in the learning environment, increased their ability to research through the internet, allowed students to stop and start podcasts as to ascertain the information better and freed up more time from the classroom so their time was better spent preparing their projects. Students said they had to be more discipline, stay on top of the work and not do everything at the last minute. It seems to me that using ipods in the classroom and creating podcasts are beneficial to students overall educational experience. The exposure to new technology and the outcomes it provides enhances student learning, ultimately improving the quality of



Leave a Reply.

    Author

    My name is Darryl Hardwick and I teach and coach at Redwood High School in Visalia, Ca--Just finished 20 years of teaching...what a ride...Time flys when your having fun!

    Archives

    June 2013
    May 2013

    Categories

    All