'All Thing Work Together for the Good of Those Who Love God and are Called According to His Purpose'   Rom 8:28
 
I do not have extensive expericences regarding social networks and social media. The extent of my expericence is using e-mail and surfing the web for research, watching youtube videos and entertainment purposes. Until I took this class, I was not a participant in facebook, twitter, my-space, shutterfly, weebly and other social media sites. When I was in college 20 years ago attending Fresno State we did not have the accessability to information at the tip of our hands like we do today. I can now access  the university school library and do research without ever stepping into the library. In many respects technology and the pursuing of knowledge through the internet is an important advancement in our society.
The article "Social Networking in Undergraduate Education" by Nicole A. Buzzetto-More concluded through a survey of management students from U.S. Mid-Atlantic minority-serving university in 2010-2011 that used Facebook as an instructional tool and the students considered Facebook a valuable tool that helped to strengthen interpersonal relationships, build learning communities and engage students. (Buzzeto-Moore p.64)  I teach at a the high school level and I see an ever increasing reliance of teaching becoming computer and internet based.  The new 'Always On Generation' is exposed to, "new technologies such as blogs, wikis, multiplayer online games, social networking technologies, video and music dissemenation reshaping social practices. Literacy has now come to mean a rapid and continuous process of change in ways in which we read, write, view, listen, compose, and communicate information." (Coiro, Knobel, Lankshear & Leu, 2008, p.5)
As educators it is important to understand that to be stagnant is to not be progressive. I see all around me the technological advancements in all phases of life and you either get on board or get left behind. Educators, students and society in general need to continue to make advancements in all areas of life to sustain culture and mainatian a high quality of human life.



Leave a Reply.

    Author

    My name is Darryl Hardwick and I teach and coach at Redwood High School in Visalia, Ca--Just finished 20 years of teaching...what a ride...Time flys when your having fun!

    Archives

    June 2013
    May 2013

    Categories

    All