'All Thing Work Together for the Good of Those Who Love God and are Called According to His Purpose'   Rom 8:28
 
Sometimes we forget the impact we have on people, both positive and negative and the long-term implications it can have on someone who is looking to us for guidance and encouragement. As I watched Marcus Buckingham I was reminded of how important it is to be our very best in every moment, especially when we are in a position of leadership. I fall into the small category of those people who actually enjoy their job and as the old cliche goes, 'when you enjoy your job, it's not a work.' I try and bring an attitude of the glass is always half-full and I try to find success even in failure. I believe its important to be leaders in our homes, on our jobs and in our community and encourage those around us to be positive, pursue their dreams, and be a blessing to others! 
I have been fairly successfull in sports as I was all-state in football, all-league in basketball and drafted and signed with the Kansas City Royals for baseball. Sports has always been a place I could call my 'sweet spot'. It was a place for me to achieve and compete at a high level without ever thinking failure was part of the equation. And when I played poorly it drove me to work harder to become the best. I enjoyed the pressure of playing well. Micheal Jordan said it best when he said, 'we miss every shot we don't take.'
I have transitioned from player to teacher/coach and I take the same approach with my students/players. When I'm in the classroom and on the court I'm in my sweet spot because I know I'm making a difference in the lives of my student/players. I certainly don't claim to know it all but I have been around the block enough to know what works and what doesn't.
There have been times in my life when I knew that I was out of my element. I have never enjoyed public speaking because by nature I'm a quiet person. I have worked really hard to become good enough where it appears i"m in my seet spot, but in reality I don't enjoy it...As much as I enjoy coaching I do not enjoy fundraising, booster commitments and asking people for help. I prefer to do things on my own as opposed to delegating so I am a work in progress in that respect.




Leave a Reply.

    Author

    My name is Darryl Hardwick and I teach and coach at Redwood High School in Visalia, Ca--Just finished 20 years of teaching...what a ride...Time flys when your having fun!

    Archives

    June 2013
    May 2013

    Categories

    All