'All Thing Work Together for the Good of Those Who Love God and are Called According to His Purpose'   Rom 8:28
 
After reading the articles on wiki's I have a better understanding of their purpose. The primary purpose of the wiki's it seems to me is  to increase online collabortaion and information sharing among people. I didn't realize that information and research articles on web-based sites, such as Wikipedia, could be added to, deleted and manipulated in a way that could be beneficial or harmful to the readers of the accessed information. 

There is so much I don't understand about how the web works and what many of the terminologies (jargon) mean and I was unaware that wiki's existed. Chawner and Lewis describe wiki's as, "a place for people to collaborate in a Web environment by creating, organizing, and maintaining a Web site of automatically linked pages".  I thought Dr.Sailor's article gave a simpler view of what wiki's is all about as he gave examples of how students might use a wiki in a learning environment. Students and professionals can work on, "collaborative projects, educators can post class projects or design group projects and post spreadsheets and perform simple mathmatical calculations". I now see wiki's being very beneficial to the educational process.

One of the components I like about the wiki is it can also be set to private and semi-private which prohibits unauthorized users. Wiki gets its name from the Hawaiian word for quick. This allows user to access information quickly and easy. Nothing worse than a slow and confusing website, but wiki's is easy to access, easy to understand and the editing features are not difficult . For a novice like me that's music to my ears.



Leave a Reply.

    Author

    My name is Darryl Hardwick and I teach and coach at Redwood High School in Visalia, Ca--Just finished 20 years of teaching...what a ride...Time flys when your having fun!

    Archives

    June 2013
    May 2013

    Categories

    All